How to be Howard Roark

1.I don’t intend to build in order to have clients; I intend to have clients in order to build.

Howard Roark has a great self-esteem, he knows what he does best- Design buildings and he’s not afraid that others might ridicule him. Part of how he developed the self-esteem is through a positive grasp of reality: He knows his product is good and he will not compromise just because other people don’t accept him.


2.But you see, I have, let’s say, sixty years to live. Most of that time will be spent working. I’ve chosen the work I want to do. If I find no joy in it, then I’m only condemning myself to sixty years of torture. And I can find the joy only if I do my work in the best way possible to me. But the best is a matter of standards–and I set my own standards. I inherit nothing. I stand at the end of no tradition. I may, perhaps, stand at the beginning of one.

Productivity makes Roark happy. He receives the most joy through expressing his productivity and creativity.He will not conform to anyone’s standard but his own. He demands nothing, expects nothing and asks for nothing; he creates for himself.


3. Peter Keating:”How do you always manage to decide?”
Howard Roark: “How can you let others decide for you?”

Peter Keating lives in a live of pleasing others, he never had his own opinion and had to rely on others to know what to do. Unlike Peter Keating “The man who could never be”, Howard Roark knows what’s best for himself, he does not seek approval from others, to him, the only important thing is to have the power to make decision for himself.


4. Ellsworth Toohey: “Mr. Roark, we’re alone here. Why don’t you tell me what you think of me? In any words you wish. No one will hear us.”
Howard Roark: “But I don’t think of you.”

There are way more important things than thinking about your enemies who wish to destroy you and Roark knows this because he can see values or, therefore the lack of values.


5. To say ‘I love you’ one must first know how to say the ‘I’.

To love is to value, Roark knows that love is the pleasure he receives from embracing the existence of another person who represents all the values he desires. Roark does not need to seek love, when loves come to him, he enjoys it and integrates it to become part of his life.


6. Now, talk. Talk about the things you really want said. Don’t tell me about your family, your childhood, your friends or your feelings. Tell me about the things you think.

Howard Roark knows what we all crave the most: to be understood. He listens, he appreciates, he understands.


7. What you feel in the presence of a thing you admire is just one word–‘Yes.’ The affirmation, the acceptance, the sign of admittance. And that ‘Yes’ is more than an answer to one thing, it’s a kind of ‘Amen’ to life, to the earth that holds this thing, to the thought that created it, to yourself for being able to see it. But the ability to say ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ is the essence of all ownership. It’s your ownership of your own ego. Your soul, if you wish. Your soul has a single basic function–the act of valuing. ‘Yes’ or ‘No,’ ‘I wish’ or ‘I do not wish.’ You can’t say ‘Yes’ without saying ‘I.” There’s no affirmation without the one who affirms. In this sense, everything to which you grant your love is yours.

Howard Roark is not afraid to tell others what he thinks, he knows when to say yes and when to say no, the power to affirm something lies within him. But that does not mean he has to blurt out everything he thinks, to say “Yes” is the affirmation of life and shall not be given easily.


8. I could die for you. But I couldn’t, and wouldn’t, live for you.

Howard Roark knows the importance of independence. Life is what you make it, no one can ever live for the sake of another man, it is up to them to discover the value of life itself. Roark will do everything in his power to help others when he sees value, but he knows his limit and that’s OK.


9. Howard Roark’s Speech

It represents everything Howard believes in: The virtue of the individual and the oblivion of the second handers. Don’t be afraid to be different, don’t be afraid to take the first step, don’t be afraid to be right, don’t be afraid to be yourself.


10.The only thing that matters, my goal, my reward, my beginning, my end is the work itself. My work done my way.

Very self explanatory but it has an important message on being happy: Happiness is created by yourself and don’t let anyone take it away from you!

Leave a Reply

